Chazak

All I can think about is Israel.  As a Jew, as one who has family and friends living there, as one who has lived there myself, as one who is connected to the life of our people that looks to the east – to our spiritual homeland – I am so troubled by the events in the Middle East.  The violence against innocents, the skewed news reporting, the insanity of hatred….on all sides. The flood of articles, of blogs, of emails, of Facebook posts all make it almost impossible to think clearly anymore.  I consider myself to be more passionate than eloquent on the subject, feeling that I must put something in writing here, to acknowledge the struggle and the pain of this time.  Even the struggle to somehow find meaning in this all through Torah feels like an overwhelming climb.

So I share here two things:

One is a link to an piece that resonates particularly well with me, and I am grateful to Rabbi Menachem Creditor for his thoughtful and inspiring, yet difficult words.

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/rabbi-menachem-creditor/im-done-apologizing-for-i_b_5606650.html

The other is my own simple prayer – that as we conclude the Book of Numbers this week, we will say together as a community as we do whenever we finish a book of Torah, ‘Chazak, chazak, v’nitchazeik’.  Be strong, be strong, and let us strengthen one another. This week, more than any other, may that be so.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Robbie
    Jul 25, 2014 @ 11:15:09

    This is very helpful. You write beautifully. Can you link your writing to our website? And I definitely think there should be links on the temple’s FB page to your writing. Shabbat Shalom.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

